Championships (indoor): This produces the indoor individual champion for the year. There is one postal qualifying stage (two cards), and a final which is run on a knock-out basis for the best 16 qualifiers, two cards per round. There are concurrent Ladies, Junior and Veterans competitions based on the qualifying stage, and there are also two classes of Inexpert championships for those with lower averages. 
Championships (outdoor):This competition is run concurrently with the Unsquadded Aggregate at the National Smallbore Rifle Association's annual Scottish National meeting, held at different places in Scotland each year. This is because there are no outdoor ranges for smallbore rifle in Lothian, so the outdoor championship (which goes back many, many years) has to be shot elsewhere. There is a handicap competition as well as a scratch one.

Here are the County Champions for the season 2018-19.                                     Archived results are here.

Championship 1st 2nd
Indoor Champion
(Whitton Cup)
P Brett (Watsonians) N Georgeson (Balerno  & Currie)
Ladies Champion
(Watt Rose Bowl)
I Stark (George Watson’s) B Burnside (Watsonians)
Veterans Champion
(Veterans Trophy)
A R Anderson (Hawick) W Vaughan (Hawick)
Junior Champion
(NSRA Jubilee Trophy)
Miss N O’Connell (George Watson’s) S Coates (George Watson’s)
Inexpert ‘A’ Champion
(an LSSA medal)
D Lee (George Watson’s) H Luo (Edinburgh University)
Inexpert ‘B’ Champion
(an LSSA medal)
M Feldmeier (Edinburgh University) M Economidou (Edinburgh University)
Outdoor Champion
(McLennan Medal)
(@Lauder 2018)
R Olley (Edinburgh University) The 2019-20 winner is
A S Bruce (Balerno & Currie)
Outdoor Champion (Handicap)
(Ettrick & Lauderdale Trophy) *
(@Lauder 2018)
M Carswell (George Watson’s) The 2019-20 winner is
Miss L Richards (George Watson’s)

* Note: The handicaps allocated to the different classes to determine the winner of the Ettrick & Lauderdale Trophy are as follows:
Classes  X&A: + 0. Class B +19. Class C +37. Class D +56.